What are pushes?


'Pushes' are a way to assign a certain conversation template to a group of users. A pushed template is available for a limited period of time. A push allows you to send a specific conversation with a defined set of questions to a carefully selected group of users. You can basically tell your users to conduct this conversation within a certain time frame and follow up on their progress.


Note: It's important to know that an admin will create the conversation push, but it's still up to the teamleader(s) and/or coach(es) to plan and conduct the conversation with their team member.
 

Create a push

To be able to create a push, you will first have to create a template. 

You can assign a template by going to the 'Templates' tab in the Conversations Studio (Studio > Conversations > Templates). Here you will see the 'Push' option for every available template(*). 

 

When you click Push you will see a window where you can create one or multiple pushes for the selected template. You'll have to name the push and set the availability of the conversation.

Take into account that 'Deadline' does not mean that this template becomes unavailable after that data. This is rather a gentle reminder for your users to finish the conversation before that date. To make the template unavailable you'll have to close the 'push' (see below).

 

Assign Users to a push

Once you've set up your pushes you will be able to assign users. Clicking the 'Assign Users' button in the creation window will redirect you to the pushes tab. You will now see your created pushes and an option to assign users.

 

There are two ways to assign users to the push: a fixed user list and a dynamic user list. Both of these options are explained in more detail below. Each method has its pros and cons so it's up to you to decide which method will suit your needs the best.


Important: once you have chosen one of these methods and assigned users to the push, you can't change the method for that specific push anymore. You'll have to create a new push if you want to use a different assignment method for the same template.

 

Fixed user assignment

Assigning a fixed user list to the conversation push means that you 'handpick' the people that need to receive a conversation push. This gives you greater control and clarity on exactly who will have a conversation with their manager / coach. The downside of this control is that it comes at the expense of more configuration work for the admin.


To recap, using a fixed user list means:


  • you manually select the users that need to have a conversation with their manager / coach
  • you manually add/remove people from the push


Select the relevant users and click the 'Assign x users' button at the bottom.


If you want to use a fixed user list, the push can start today. The notifications will be sent out shortly after assigning the users to the push. 


Dynamic user assignment

Assigning a dynamic user list to the conversation push means that you define certain 'criteria' on who should receive a conversation push, and the system will send a push to all the users that match those criteria. So this method allows you to send a conversation template to a certain subgroup of your organisation without having to manually add all those users



The criteria you defined (called 'filter options' on the platform) will be shown on the left and the user list that matches those criteria right now will be shown on the right. Beware that this list is NOT FINAL. The criteria you define will be evaluated on the day that the push starts. Between now and the start of the push the amount of users that match those criteria can change...

After the push has started, you can add individual users again as if it were a fixed list.


Defining criteria (aka filter options)

The criteria you define follow a simple structure. It always has three parts: a property that a user can have, a value that the property has to match, and an operation that decides how the property and value are matched.


Some examples:


  • Works in the marketing department
  • Joining date was 6 months ago
  • Has the training administrator role
  • Is part of the System operation's team


 

Using multiple criteria

It's possible to define a group that has to match multiple criteria. For this, it's important to determine how the individual criteria relate to each other. The criteria can have an 'AND' relation or an 'OR' relation. 


Examples:


1. I want users that "work in the marketing department" AND "joined the company less than 6 months ago"




Note: To link criteria with an AND relation, click 'add option' directly below an existing criteria.


2. I want users that "have a job title that contains 'junior' " OR "have a job title that contains 'trainee' "



Note: To link criteria with an OR relation, click 'add option' below the OR.



What happens when the push starts

When the push is sent out, users will receive an email informing them that a new conversation template is available for them to use and the deadline before which the conversation has to be conducted.

You can see the selected list of users in the Users tab after clicking on the push's name.

After the push has started, you can add new users to the push again. These don't have to match the criteria you have defined before.


In this tab you can also follow up on your users whether or not they have already conducted the assigned conversation.


Who will receive a notification?

If you assign a user to a push, ALL teamleader(s) and/or coach(es)  of the user will receive a notification and will see the conversation push in their Conversation overview. If only one of those managers/coaches is supposed to conduct the conversation, the others can ignore the push until it is closed.
 

Close a Push

When it's time to close off the conversation template for your users you can close the push. Click on the Edit option in your pushes overview to go to that push's settings.

Click on the Close button to close and finish the push.


(*) You have to explicitly allow the template to be available through push. Check the relevant Permission to conduct option inside the template settings.