User filters will allow you to:

  • Assign specific groups of users to conversations pushes
  • Assign specific groups of users to snapshot pushes 
  • Assign specific groups of users to engagement pulse 
    (only when the option Mutliple Engament Pulses is enabled.)

When setting up the push, an admin of the platform can choose (depending on the date you’ve set for the push*) between the following two user filters:

  • Fixed users list is a manually selected list of users 
  • Dynamic users list is a list of users based on selected filters

*Note: it's only possible to select a dynamic user list if the push is set to start in the future. If the start date of the push is today, you can only manually select users with a fixed user list.
 

This article will explain the process of assigning users to a dynamic user list.
 

Configuring the push

Snapshot push

To use these filters for a snapshot push, go to Studio > Snapshots > Templates tab. In the templates overview table, click on the 'push' button of a template to start configuring a push. Give the push a name and select its start and end date. Click on ‘assign users’ when you're ready. 

Important: if your push is set as of today, the list of users will automatically be a fixed user list. You won’t be able to use the user filters for a dynamic user list. 

If your date for the push is set in the future, you’re going to see the following view:

Conversation push

To use these filters for a conversation push, go to Studio > Conversations > Templates tab. If there’s no ‘push’ next to the template you wish to send out, it means this option is disabled on the template. To enable the push option on a template, click the options icon (three dots) on the right and click on ‘edit template’. Enable the following option:

When you click on ‘push’, enter the details of the push you wish to send and click on ‘assign users’.

Important: if your push is set as of today, the list of users will automatically be a fixed user list. You won’t be able to use the user filters for a dynamic user list. 

Now you’re in the overview of the conversation pushes you’ve set up. Select the push you want to assign users to and click on ‘Assign users’ 

As mentioned above, if you have chosen a date in the future, you will get the following options to choose from:

 

Engagement pulse

To use these filters for a engagement push, go to Studio > Engagement > Pulses tab. In the right upper corner you can choose for "Create new pulse". Give the pulse a name.

Click on the three dots behind the newly created pulse and choose edit.

Now you can choose between a fixed or dynamic filter list


Assigning users to the push

A fixed users list is a manual selection of users. 

A dynamic users list allows you to use certain filters, in essence a list of criteria, that will decide the list of users 

Click on ‘Add option’ to choose your filters.
After choosing your filter, click on ‘add’ to see which users are being selected based on the criteria you’ve entered.

Note: You can add as many filters as you want.
The individual filters interact with each other with either 'AND' logic or 'OR' logic.
This means that the final user list will be determined by matching the users to criteria like 'Filter 1 AND Filter 2' or 'Filter 1 OR Filter 2'. You can make the combination of filters into logical AND and OR rules as complex as you want.

This is an example combining two filters: employees from Belgium that have joined the company in the last year

After adding a filter, you'll see a preview of the users that match the filter's criteria right now. The users that match these criteria are not set in stone until the morning when the push is set to be sent out. On the start date of the push, the criteria you selected in the filters will be evaluated by the system to determine the final user list of that push. After the push has been sent out to users, it changes from a dynamic user list to a fixed user list. This means that any users that still need to be added to the push can be added by manually selecting them from all the remaining users.

If you are done with configuring the filters, click on ‘save changes’. You can still edit the filters until the start date of the push.

If you want to know more, watch this video